subscriptions & pricing
Onshape is an enterprise-grade CAD system with version control and collaboration built in at its core. Unlike installed CAD and PDM, Onshape gives everyone on the team instant access to the same CAD system and same CAD data in one central place in the cloud. Sign up for our 21-day trial of Onshape Professional to fully evaluate Onshape for your company.
What are Onshape Documents?
Onshape is the only cloud-architected, production-level mechanical CAD service. This means your CAD data is stored in the cloud as a collection of smart objects, not as files on a disk. These collections are called Onshape Documents. A Document is a project-level container that can include CAD models, CAD drawings, and data of any other type.
You and your collaborators can do CAD design work at any time from a browser on any computer or operating system – and even work simultaneously. Your Documents are always stored as you work and are always backed up to the cloud. You can choose to upload, download and store traditional CAD files in most common proprietary and standard CAD formats. In fact, you can upload, download and store any data of any type in a Document.
FAQs About Our Plans
What is the primary difference between the Professional Plan and the Free Plan?
The Professional Plan allows professional CAD users to create and edit private data. The Free Plan allows free users to create and edit public data for personal and open source projects. Free Plan users can also view private data that is shared with them.
What is the difference between the Professional Plan and the Enterprise Plan?
Onshape’s Enterprise Plan provides analytics, reporting, process control and customized support services that are not included in Onshape’s Professional Plan.
Are there any differences in CAD or version control functionality between the Free, Professional and Enterprise Plans?
No. All plans provide the same CAD and version control functionality.
How much do the Onshape plans cost?
Onshape’s Professional Plan is $100/month per user, billed annually. For details on the Onshape Enterprise Plan, please contact us.
What happens if I cancel my Professional or Enterprise subscription?
You will be downgraded to Onshape’s Free Plan and will maintain access to your pre-existing data. Your Private Documents will stay private, but you will not be able to edit them. You will be able to view, export and download your Private Documents. You can go back to the Professional Plan at any time and once again edit your Onshape Documents.
Can a Professional Plan subscriber share a Private Document with a Free Plan user?
Yes. An Onshape Free Plan user will not be able to edit the Private Document, but can view, export, and download the data if granted permission.
Using Onshape’s Free Plan, can I grant individuals editing rights to my Public Documents?
Yes. An owner of a Public Document may share it with others and grant them different combinations of permissions to edit, comment, download and even share the Document with others.
Does Onshape provide centralized billing for multiple users?
Yes. When you subscribe to Onshape Professional, you have the option to create an Onshape Company which provides centralized billing for multiple Professional Plan users. The credit card holder becomes the Company Owner, and he/she can add and remove Company Members to and from the paid Onshape Company.
The Company Members then can create Documents owned by the company, and easily share their Documents with the Company.
If I add new Company Members to my Onshape Company’s Professional Plan in the middle of the year, how will billing work?
Your existing billing cycle becomes the default billing cycle for the new Members. This may cause each new Professional subscription to be prorated initially. For example, if you add a new user to your Onshape Company when there are 45 days left in the annual subscription periord, then the new subscription is prorated so that it is initially charged for the remaining 45 days – and then subsequently is charged the full annual amount with your pre-existing account cycles.
Do I get a partial refund for the remainder of my billing period when I downgrade my Plan?
No. Your Plan becomes downgraded to Free at the end of the billing period.
Can I try the Onshape Professional Plan before committing to a paid subscription?
Yes, a free 21-day trial is available. Click here to get started.
What is an Onshape Professional Trial?
Onshape’s Professional Trial is a free time-based 21-day trial that provides users an opportunity to evaluate Onshape for their business. During this trial, the user can access Onshape Professional’s full capabilities and create and edit unlimited Private Documents. Users can also receive professional training and advice on how to get the most out of Onshape on their own project. It’s the perfect way for professionals to evaluate Onshape for their business projects.
What happens to my Private Documents once the Professional Trial ends?
A trial user can subscribe to Onshape Professional at any time and continue to create and edit both Private and Public Documents. If the user chooses not to subscribe to Onshape Professional, the account will be downgraded to Onshape’s Free Plan. The Private Documents will remain private, but users will only be able to view, export, and download the data as well as make them public. Onshape never makes any user’s Private Documents public.
When does the 21-day trial start?
The 21-day trial starts the moment you sign up. Because Onshape eliminates the hassles of CAD installation on a computer, a user can sign up for a trial and begin using Onshape immediately!