One of the biggest benefits of using a cloud-based product design platform is that the company owns all data created by it. This means if an employee leaves or a contractor’s project is over, all you have to do as an admin or owner of the Company is remove that user. No need to hunt down files, or backup computers when an employee leaves.
Before we dive into our Tech Tip, it’s worth reviewing that Company with a capital “C” refers to Onshape’s company-wide admin tools that let you easily manage multiple users and enable quicker internal sharing of design data.
With that out of the way, let’s take a look at how to remove an employee from your company in Onshape.
As an admin or owner of a Company in Onshape, if you click your username in the top-right corner, you will see “Company settings.”
This will bring up your Company’s settings including a section for “Users.” Here you will see a list of users in your Company and you have the option to add new users, remove users, or change the type of user.
To remove a user, simply click the user’s name in the list and click the delete icon in the top-right corner.
After clicking the delete icon, you will be asked to confirm. When removing a user from a Company, you will be presented with clear options allowing you to quickly revoke the user's access to all data within your organization. You can select to automatically remove them from any company-owned teams (and thereby revoke their access to any documents shared with those teams) as well as remove them from direct-shares of any documents or folders owned by the company.
Click “OK” and you are done. That person no longer has access to that account or the Documents owned by the Company.
So that’s it!
Onshape’s unique company-wide administration tools ensure your Documents remain in the control of your company and that former employees are easily removed when they leave.
Interested in learning more about Onshape’s company-wide administration tools? Watch the video at the top of this post.